Question Time!

Skin Type: Combination skin

Climate: Philly area

Main Skin Concern: Subborn acne

Question:

Hello! I have combination skin that used to be mostly oily when I was younger. I rarely if ever had any acne until I started psychiatric medicine. Now I get it mostly around the T Zone and especially around my mouth. Nothing makes it go away, and it’s not too too terrible. Also, it’s not that noticeable to others (I think) but the problem is I have very pale skin so even if it’s not aggravated anymore the coloring remains. So I guess my question is two-fold: 1. What skin care regime would you recommend so I can be proactive and can make the recurring acne go away? (Preferably something I can get at Ulta, Target, Amazon, or a nearby drugstore) 2. What makeup foundation and concealer would you recommend using so my skin tone looks more even? I usually just use Cover Girl. Thanks!

Answer:

I’m going to answer the second part of your question first, because that makes more sense to me. You want a concealer that 1)offsets the (I assume) redness caused by these breakouts and 2)does not make said breakouts worse.

So, in other words, you want a lightweight green concealer. Luckily for you, there are a million or so options to choose from! Any one of these is probably better than my middle school solution, which was to use shimmery green eyeshadow on red spots.

NYX CC Cream in Light Green

I use this CC Cream in Lavender for brightness and I often totally skipping my BB Cream

NYC Concealer Wand, Green

Essence Say No To Redness, Pastel Green

Smashbox Photo Finish Color Correcting Foundation Primer, Adjust

NYX Studio Perfect Photo Loving Primer, Anti-Redness

You can check these products on Cosdna.com and see if there are ingredients that are more likely to make you break out.

On to your first question!

It sounds counter-intuitive, but the best thing for oily skin is oil cleansing (as part of a double cleansing method). Here’s a good article on the double cleansing method from Soko Glam. The oil in the cleanser will help to dissolve the oil on your face and clogging your pores (like how the best way to get rid of permanent marker on a dry erase board is to cover it with dry erase marker). The foaming cleanser that follows is for clearing out the remaining crud in your pores. I’ve used The Face Shop Rice Water Bright cleansing oil for years and love it (and it’s on the cheap side). Pair this with a gentle foaming cleanser and  alcohol-free toners (and moisturizers), and the acne should be reduced/prevented.

Let me know if you have any other questions!

Leave a comment